Jump to content


Jon Iati Rookie of the Year

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Dane Pound

Dane Pound


  • Big Purple Fans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,838 posts

Posted 09 March 2004 - 02:38 PM

Jon Iati rookie of year

The York Catholic grad was honored for his outstanding freshman season at Albany.

Daily Record staff
Saturday, March 6, 2004
The University at Albany’s Jon Iati, a York Catholic graduate, was named the America East Conference Rookie of the Year in men’s basketball on Friday.

Iati, a 5-foot-9 freshman guard, ranks ninth among America East scoring leaders with 14.5 points per game. He is also tied for sixth in assists (2.96 per game) and is fifth in 3-point field goals (2.5 per game).

He has scored in double figures 23 times this season, including a career-high 26 against Stony Brook on Feb. 18. He also posted a 12-game double-figure scoring streak that ended in the regular-season finale against Northeastern.

He was named the America East rookie of the week seven times during the season. He leads the nation in total minutes with 1,082 for a 40.1 average, and has played 40 or more minutes in 20 games.

His 68 3-point field goals rank eighth on Albany’s single-season list and are the second-best total by a Great Dane freshman.

Iati was the Daily Record Division II Co-Player of the Year as a senior at York Catholic. He finished his scholastic career with 2,216 points, the second-highest boys’ total in YAIAA history.

Iati is the second consecutive Albany player to win conference Rookie of the Year honors, following in the footsteps of Jamar Wilson.

Albany’s Iati was also named to the America East All-Rookie Team, along with Troy Hailey of Binghamton, Blagoj Janev of New Hampshire, Bennet Davis of Northeastern and Mike Popoko of Stony Brook.

Taylor Coppenrath of Vermont was named the conference’s Player of the Year.

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users