Jump to content


Photo

2017 MSOC


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#61 DanesRGood

DanesRGood

    Great Dane

  • Big Purple Fans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,042 posts

Posted 19 November 2017 - 08:45 PM

Wow. I just watched the replay (well, I skipped some here and there) without knowing what happened. That foul call on the UA goal was one of the worst calls I've seen in any sport. Both guys were going for a LOOSE ball, there was hardly any contact and they called a foul on UA.  That was pathetic and horrible and most likely cost them the game. It really deflated them.  

 

And then the fight in the goal with 5 Western Mich players attacking one UA player and the ref standing there watching.  Just ridiculous.  I really feel bad for the team to get to the second round and have a good chance to win and have it taken away not by their play. Yes, they may have still lost but at least it would've been on the merit of their play.


Edited by DanesRGood, 19 November 2017 - 10:55 PM.


#62 Dane96

Dane96

    Great Dane

  • Big Purple Fans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,737 posts

Posted 19 November 2017 - 09:51 PM

At best, it was a 50-50 ball...and the advantage, by rule, should be played to the offensive player  who was ahead of the defender.  Absolutely changed the outcome of the game...and the frustrations came out.



#63 DanesRGood

DanesRGood

    Great Dane

  • Big Purple Fans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,042 posts

Posted 20 November 2017 - 07:54 AM

See for yourself. The reply here is a closeup.  He did nothing wrong.

 

 

https://twitter.com/...403832860094466


Edited by DanesRGood, 20 November 2017 - 07:54 AM.


#64 B9j2j6s

B9j2j6s

    Great Dane

  • Big Purple Fans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,248 posts

Posted 20 November 2017 - 10:15 AM

I coached middle school soccer for a few years before kids. I would have lost my $iena on a call like that. Absolutely a 50-50 ball you can't blow a whistle on that.

Okay took a second look the head Ref had horrible positioning. Why wasn't there a line judge helping. In NYS playoff games they have three refs to avoid calls like that. Wow did the NCAA have only one ref doing this game?

Okay third look, I think I saw that they had line judges one with perhaps better positioning. Not sure why they didn't talk with the Head official. Does the NCAA have replay rules?

Edited by B9j2j6s, 20 November 2017 - 10:27 AM.


#65 uofalbany

uofalbany

    Great Dane

  • Big Purple Fans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,817 posts

Posted 20 November 2017 - 10:18 AM

Another example of officials single-handedly destroying the outcome of a game.                     


UA Class of '93

 

599489_235629683226336_1094172808_n+(2).


#66 jimbo

jimbo

    Great Dane

  • Big Purple Fans
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts

Posted 20 November 2017 - 08:50 PM

I wasn't following the men's game super closely this afternoon, but I noticed that there were at least two red cards handed out -- one to each team. Does that mean that the Western Michigan player will not be allowed to play in the next round? What about the UA player who received a red card, does his suspension carry over to the next season if he is eligible? If the WMU player cannot participate, at least it's some consolation to UA this year.


I have it on good authority that the WMU player with the red card will have to sit out the next game. The UA player will not have to sit out first game of 2018.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users