Jump to content

UAlbany Athletics- America East-
SOCIAL MEDIA: UAlbany Facebook- UAlbany Instagram- UAlbany Twitter- UAlbany Blog-
MEDIA: Albany Student Press- America East TV- ESPN3- Schenectady Gazette- The Team 104.5 ESPN Radio- The Team 104.5 ESPN Radio Archive interviews- Times Union College Sports- Times Union Sports- WCDB- WOFX 980-
WINTER SPORTS LINKS: College Insider- Pomeroy Ratings- Real TimeRPI-
SPRING SPORTS LINKS: Inside Lacrosse- Lax Power Backup Stick-
OTHER FORUMS: America East Forum- Any Given Saturday Forum- Championship Subdivision forum(1-AA Discussion) The Hen House - Siena Forum- Stony Brook Forum- Vermont Forum

Coach Ford a finalists for Eddie Robinson Award (Coach of Year)

Recommended Posts



Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Twenty candidates, including five former winners, were named Monday to The Sports Network's Eddie Robinson Award ballot. That ballot, along with ballots for the Walter Payton and Buck Buchanan awards, will be released and distributed to voters later on Monday. Voting will be conducted this week and winners will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 18 during the 22nd annual Sports Network awards dinner at the Marriott Hotel in Chattanooga, TN, the night before the NCAA Division I Football Championship game.





Joining the former winners on the list are Kerwin Bell of Jacksonville, Dick Biddle of Colgate, Clint Conque of Central Arkansas, Jack Cosgrove of Maine, Rich Ellerson of Cal Poly, Phil Estes of Brown, Bob Ford of Albany, Henry Frazier of Prairie View, Bobby Hauck of Montana, Dean Hood of Eastern Kentucky, Dale Lennon of Southern Illinois, Ron McBride of Weber State, Buddy Pough of South Carolina State, Danny Rocco of Liberty and Joe Taylor of Florida A&M. Listed below are the accomplishments of each candidate:


Bob Ford, Albany - This veteran coach continued transforming the Great Danes from a non-scholarship model to a scholarship program and won another Northeast Conference title with an 8-3 regular-season record. Continuing to upgrade Albany's schedule, Ford's only losses this year were to UMass, Delaware and New Hampshire of the CAA. The 35-year Albany veteran led the Great Danes to their fourth league title in the past seven years, and their third straight berth in the Gridiron Classic.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...