Jump to content

UAlbany Athletics- America East-
SOCIAL MEDIA: UAlbany Facebook- UAlbany Instagram- UAlbany Twitter- UAlbany Blog-
MEDIA: Albany Student Press- America East TV- ESPN3- Schenectady Gazette- The Team 104.5 ESPN Radio- The Team 104.5 ESPN Radio Archive interviews- Times Union College Sports- Times Union Sports- WCDB- WOFX 980-
WINTER SPORTS LINKS: College Insider- Pomeroy Ratings- Real TimeRPI-
SPRING SPORTS LINKS: Inside Lacrosse- Lax Power Backup Stick-
OTHER FORUMS: America East Forum- Any Given Saturday Forum- Championship Subdivision forum(1-AA Discussion) The Hen House - Siena Forum- Stony Brook Forum- Vermont Forum


Dane Pound

Recommended Posts

Courtesy: UAlbany Sports Information

Release: 03/27/2007

Courtesy: UAlbany Athletics




Boston, Mass. - University at Albany's Jamar Wilson has been chosen the 2007 America East Conference Player of the Year in men's basketball as announced on Friday, March 2 at the conference's annual awards brunch, held at Fenway Park's State Street Pavilion. Wilson and Jason Siggers were selected first-team all-conference, while Brent Wilson made the third team in voting by the league's head coaches. Brian Lillis was named the America East Defensive Player of the Year.

Wilson, who earned All-America East honors for the fourth time, including a pair of first-team selections, is the fourth player in conference history to win consecutive player of the year awards. He joins Northeastern's Reggie Lewis, Vermont's Taylor Coppenrath and Drexel's Malik Rose in that group.

A native of Bronx, N.Y., Wilson ranks first in scoring (18.6 pg), second in assists (4.9 pg) and fifth in rebounding (6.2 pg) among the conference leaders. He is the school's all-time scorer with 2,082 points, plus ranks seventh among the America East career leaders. Wilson, a 6-foot-1 senior, became the first player in the program's history to score 500 or more points in three different seasons. He was recently named to the NABC All-District 2 first team.

Siggers, a 6'4" senior from Dallas, Texas, ranks eighth among the conference leaders in scoring at 14.2 points per game. He is also third in free throw percentage (.829). Siggers, who has scored in double figures in 15 of his last 17 games, averages 4.0 rebounds, plus has made 43-of-128 three-point field goals.

Wilson, a 6'8" junior from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, makes his second straight appearance on the All-America East third team. He contributes 11.2 points and 5.0 rebounds, plus leads the team in 3-point field goals made (62). He scored in double figures 16 times, including a career-high 29 against Sacred Heart.

A 6-foot-5 junior from Urbandale, Iowa, Lillis has been an all-around performer throughout his career. He averages 7.1 points, 5.0 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 1.5 steals. He was one of the reasons the Great Danes allowed 62.0 points per game against conference opponents. Lillis was also a member of the five-player America East All-Academic Team. He has a 3.11 cumulative grade point average as a business administration major.

UAlbany (20-9) is the second seed in this weekend's conference postseason tournament. The Great Danes recorded back-to-back 20-win campaigns for the first time in 17 years and tied a program record for most America East victories with 13.


2007 America East Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams

First Team - Chris Holm (Vermont), Jason Siggers (Albany), Bo Taylor (Hartford), Mike Trimboli (Vermont), Jamar Wilson (Albany).

Second Team - Mike Gordon (Binghamton), Brian Hodges (UMBC), Blagoj Janev (New Hampshire), Tyler Morris (Boston U.), Kevin Reed (Maine).

Third Team - Jermaine Anderson (New Hampshire), Martin Klimes (Vermont), Ricky Lucas (Stony Brook), Omari Peterkin (Boston U.), Brent Wilson (Albany).

All-Defensive - Jermaine Anderson (New Hampshire), Mike Gordon (Binghamton), Martin Klimes (Vermont), Brian Lillis (Albany), Chris Pugh (UMBC).

All-Rookie - Corey Lowe (Boston U.), Tyler Morris (Boston U.), Joe Trapani (Vermont), Lazar Trifunovic (Binghamton), Joe Zeglinski (Hartford).

All-Academic - Brian Hodges (UMBC), Martin Klimes (Vermont), Brian Lillis (Albany), Ricky Lucas (Stony Brook), Tyler Morris (Boston U.).

Player of the Year: Jamar Wilson (Albany)

Rookie of the Year: Tyler Morris (Boston U.)

Defensive Player of the Year: Brian Lillis (Albany)

Coach of the Year: Mike Lonergan (Vermont)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...