Jump to content

UAlbany Athletics- America East-
SOCIAL MEDIA: UAlbany Facebook- UAlbany Instagram- UAlbany Twitter- UAlbany Blog-
MEDIA: Albany Student Press- America East TV- ESPN3- Schenectady Gazette- The Team 104.5 ESPN Radio- The Team 104.5 ESPN Radio Archive interviews- Times Union College Sports- Times Union Sports- WCDB- WOFX 980-
WINTER SPORTS LINKS: College Insider- Pomeroy Ratings- Real TimeRPI-
SPRING SPORTS LINKS: Inside Lacrosse- Lax Power Backup Stick-
OTHER FORUMS: America East Forum- Any Given Saturday Forum- Championship Subdivision forum(1-AA Discussion) The Hen House - Siena Forum- Stony Brook Forum- Vermont Forum

Recommended Posts

Handicapping the Race for the Heisman of Lacrosse



According to the Tewaaraton Foundation, the selection committee uses the following guidelines to choose finalists and recipients:

  • Finalists will be the best five players chosen without regard to institution.

  • Finalists will be selected based on individual performance and a player’s contribution to the success of their team.

  • Finalists are chosen based on the current year’s regular-season performance (date of selection is at the conclusion of the regular season, before playoffs).

  • Recipients are chosen based on the current year’s regular season and playoff performance.

  • Sportsmanship can play a role in the selection process, and it is important that the recipient upholds the mission and values of the Tewaaraton Award.

Two horse race: Fields & Rambo. Baptiste blew an outside chance with his performance in the finals. Early exits in the playoffs doomed Reeves & Spencer.


Does Rambo's assault arrest and suspension in 2014 (last criteria) and his low(er) point totals in the semis & final leave the door open for Fields? Or, does his National Championship and 8 points in win over UA put him over the top?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It was more an award for Maryland than Rambo..in my mind. They won the title..broke their long drought. Rambo broke the program's scoring record. The program has never won the Tewaaraton. Men and women both won the title and the Tewaaratons. By the end of the season..I actually think Kelly was the better player for Maryland than Rambo.


I don't think there was any question that Fields had a much better individual season.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...